N pennsylvania

DEPARTMENT OF AGING

2013

Dear Administrator:

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the mandated requirements of Act 79 of 1997,
known as the Older Adults Protective Services Act (OAPSA). Amendments to OAPSA include
Act 169 of 1996; (Criminal History Background Checks) and Act 13 of 1997; (Mandatory Abuse
Reporting.) For your guidance, we have enclosed information pertaining to your facility’s
responsibilities and reporting procedures under OAPSA.  The Department of Aging provides
on-line, self study training for Mandatory Abuse Reporting and Criminal History Background
Checks. The overall aim of the self study course is to give you the concepts, strategies, and
techniques that will allow you to understand the basic tenets of the law, and the roles and
responsibilities of various individuals and regulatory systems in the provision of protective
services in long term care facilities. Further information can be found by visiting our website at

www.aging.state.pa.us/psonlinetraining. '

The Department of Aging is committed to ensuring the protection of Pennsylvania’s older adults
and we appreciate your help in protecting our older Pennsylvanians. If you have any other
questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact a member of the
Criminal History Background Check Unit at (717) 265-7887. Thank you.

, Sincerely,
A

Denise A. Getgen, Chief
Consumer Protection Division

Bureau of Advocacy/Criminal History Background Check Unit
555 Walnut Street, 5™ FI. | Harrisburg PA 17101 | 717.265.7887 | F 717.772.2668 | www.aging.state.pa.us
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DEPARTMENT GF AGING

NEW PRICE - $27.50 effective June 3, 2013

The Department of Aging transitioned from a manual to an electronic fingerprinting process for
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) criminal history background checks required by the Older Adults
Protective Services Act. Due to this conversion from a manual fingerprinting process to an electronic
fingerprinting process fingerprints submitted on fingerprint cards will no longer be accepted.

All requests for FBI background checks must be made directly through Cogent Systems, a 3™ party
electronic background check processor contracted by the Department of Aging. This change will
expedite the submission and processing of FBI background check requests.

The fingerprinting registration process is conducted through Cogent at www.pa.cogentid.com.
Effective June 3, 2013, the fee for the background check is $27.50.

Background:

As required by the Older Adults Protective Services Act (OAPSA), applicants/employees of specific
facilities or agencies who have NOT been a resident of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania for the
last two years must obtain criminal history record information reports from both the Pennsylvania
State Police (PSP) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The employment determinations
for applicants/employees who require an FBI check must come from the PA Department of Aging.

The Process: _

(1) Applicant Registration: Applicants will now register online at www.pa.cogentid.com or by
telephone at 1-888-439-2486, Monday through Friday, 8 A.M. to 6 P.M. EST. Following registration,
the applicant will be provided with a registration number that they will take with them when they go to
the Cogent site for fingerprinting. Applicants must be registered with Cogent Systems prior to arriving
at a fingerprinting site.

When registering on-line, please select the Pennsylvania Department of Aging icon.  Fingerprint
requests processed through any other agency cannot be accepted. If an applicant mistakenly
registers through a different department, the registration must be cancelled. The applicant must
restart the registration process using the Aging icon. This must be completed prior to being
fingerprinted. Once fingerprinted, registration and/or results cannot be transferred to another state
agency.

Note to facilities and/or agencies: If your agency chooses to be billed for fingerprinting, Cogent
Systems allows the fee to be billed to the facilities/agencies address. In order to use this course of
action, the facility/agency must complete and submit the Cogent Systems’ Agency Billing Agreement.
The agreement is available on the Cogent website at www.pa.cogentid.com. The billing account
must be established prior to sending applicants to the fingerprint site.
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(2) FEES: The fee for an FBI background check is $27.50. Payment can be made during on-line
registration by using a credit or debit card or in-person at the fingerprinting site with a money order or
cashier's check made payable to Cogent Systems. No cash transactions or personal checks will be
accepted.

(3) FINGERPRINT SITES: Since April 2007, Cogent Systems has established more than 110 sites
across the Commonwealth. We encourage all facilities to direct perspective applicants to the most
convenient fingerprint service site. To find a site near you visit www.pa.cogentid.com.

(4) Processing FBI Reports: Cogent Systems will forward the applicant’s fingerprints electronically to
the FBI. Responses from the FBI will be sent to the PA Department of Aging for analysis. The
Department of Aging will review the results to determine if any convictions listed in OAPSA would
prohibit the applicant/employee from being employed. The Department of Aging will send
employment determination letters to both the facility and applicant. Employment determinations from
any other source are not acceptable under the law.

Security of Applicant Information: Data collected during the fingerprinting process is secured and
regulated by both Cogent Systems and the regulations governing the use of that data. The computer
system is housed within a secured network that is protected by firewall devices configured to allow
only permissible protocols and traffic. Cogent Systems will ensure that all devices procured under
this process continue to adhere to the Commonwealth’s Security requirements.

Inquiries or Questions: Individuals who are seeking additional information regarding the process and
print locations may contact Cogent Systems at: www.pa.cogentid.com.

For more information on criminal history background checks, please visit the Department of Aging
website at www.aging.state.pa.us or call 717-265-7887.
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Facility/Agency

Adult Daily Living Center
Assisted Living
Birth Center

Community Homes for Individuals for Individuals with Mental Retardation — Group Home/Community
Living Arrangement

Community Residential Rehabilitation Services

Domiciliary Care

Family Living Home

Home Care Agency or Registry - is defined to include those agencies licensed by the Department of
Health and any public or private organization which provide care to a care-dependent individual in
their place of residence.

Home Health Care Organization or Agency

Hospitals — ONLY those with a Long Term Care Unit, Skilled Transitional Unit, OR Extended Care
Unit AND you must be employed in or potentially rotate fo one of these units.

Hospice

Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Mental Retardation
Living Independence for the Elderly

Long Term Structured Residence

Nursing Home/Long Term Care Nursing Facility

Office of Long Term Living/Waiver Program

Persona| Care Home

Residential Treatment Facility for Adults

Nursing Schools - for students doing an internship or clinical rotation, or any other individual, who
has been granted access to the facility to perform clinical services.

Sexual Responsibility Treatment Program
State Mental Hospital
South Mountain Restoration Center

Staffing Agency — entity that supplies, arranges for, or refers their employees to provide care in other
OAPSA facilities.






Act 169 of 1996

PURPOSE: Requires criminal history background checks for employees of NH, PCH, Dom Care, Home
Health and ADC. Employees with convictions for prohibitive offenses are precluded from working in these

facilities.

PROHIBITIVE OFFENSES:

e Criminal Homicide
Aggravated Assault
Kidnapping
Unlawful Restraint
Rape
Statutory Sexual Assault
Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse
Sexual Assault
Aggravated Indecent Assault
Indecent Assault
Indecent Exposure
Arson and Related Offenses
Burglary
Robbery

Theft (Felony or 2 Misdemeanors)
Forgery

Securing Execution of Documents by
Deception

Incest

Concealing the Death of a Child
Felony Drug Offense

Child Endangerment

Dealing in Infant Children
Intimidation of Witness

Retaliation Against a Witness
Prostitution (Felony Offense)
Obscene or Other Sexual Materials
Corruption of Minors

EMPLOYEES: An employee is defined as an applicant or new employee, including contract employees
with direct contact with residents or unsupervised access to the personal living quarters. Also included
are persons employed or contracted to provide care to a care-dependent individual for monetary
consideration in the individual’s residence. A volunteer is not considered to be an employee.

FACILITY: The type of facilities covered by the Act are as follows:

e  domiciliary care home

home health care agency
long-term care nursing facility
adult daily living center/day care
personal care home

The Act also includes any private or public organization which provides care to care-dependent persons

in their residence.

In addition, PA Department of Public Welfare has determined that the following DPW-licensed and
DPW-operated residential facilities for adults are also covered by the Act:

o assisted living residences

e community residential rehabilitation services
e community homes for individuals with mental

retardation
o family living homes
e ICF/MR’s (private and state)

residential treatment facilities for adults
state mental hospitals

nursing facilities (licensed by DPW)

long term structured residences

sexual responsibility treatment programs

(continued)




Act 169 of 1996 (continued)

In addition, PA Department of Health has determined that the following DOH-licensed facilities are also
covered by the Act:

e hospices

e birth centers

) home care agencies — any public or private organization which provides care to a
care-dependent individual in their place of residence

. home care registry or “registry” — any organization or business entity that supplies,
arranges or refers independent contractors to provide activities of daily living or
instrumental activities of daily living or specialized care in the consumer’s place of
residence or other independent living environment for which the registry receives a fee,
consideration or compensation of any kind.

PROCESS: An applicant/new hire who has been a resident of the state for the last 2 years, uninterrupted,
needs to obtain a Request for Criminal History Background Check from the nearest PA State Police barracks.
The applicant/new hire will complete the application and forward it with a money order or cashier's check for
$10 to the State Police for processing. The Act does allow for the provisional hire of an employee for 30 days
if the conditions listed below are met. If there is no criminal history or record, the PSP will forward a letter
stating same. If there is a criminal record, the PSP will forward a copy of the rap sheet to the applicant.

If the applicant has not been a PA resident for the 2 years before application, he/she will need to have PSP
criminal history background check completed and an FBI criminal history background check. PDA is the
intermediary between the facility and the FBI. PDA uses Cogent fingerprinting systems for the electronic
fingerprinting process to the FBI.  The applicant will register online at www.pa.cogentid.com or by telephone
at 1-888-439-2486. Following registration, the applicant will be provided with a registration number that they
will take with them when they go to the Cogent site for fingerprinting. Applicants must be registered with
Cogent Systems prior to arriving at the fingerprinting site. Applicants must be sure to register for the
Pennsylvania Department of Aging background check. Payment of $27.50 is required either during
registration online by credit or debit card, or in-person at the fingerprinting site with a money order or cashier’s
check. The facility can print off a Proof of Fingerprint Submission from the Cogent website. The FBI will run a
check and send the results to PDA. PDA will review the results to determine if any convictions listed in
OAPSA would prohibit the applicant/employee from being employed. PDA will send employment
determination letters to both the facility and applicant. Employment determinations from any other source are
not acceptable under the law. The Act does allow for the provisional hire for 90 days of employees receiving
an FBI check if the conditions listed below are met.

To provisionally hire an employee for 30 days under PSP, or up to 90 days for FBI, requires:

1. Applicant must have applied for the background check(s) and provided a copy of the completed
request forms to the administrator;

2. Applicant must swear/affirm in writing that he/she has not been convicted of offenses that would
prohibit them under the Act;

3. Facility must have no personal knowledge that the applicant has been convicted of offenses that
would prohibit them under the Act;

4. The provisionally employed applicant shall receive an orientation which provides information on
policies, procedures and laws which address standards of proper care and recognition and
reporting of abuse or neglect, or both, of recipients;

5. The provisionally employed applicant shall receive regular supervision as directed in PA Code
Title 6 § 15.146, with the results of the observations documented in the employee personnel file.
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OLDER ADULTS PROTECTIVE SERVICES ACT May 2011
Prohibitive Offenses Contained in Act 169 of 1996 as Amended by Act 13 Dept. of Aging

e e

CC2500 Criminal Homicide Any

CC2503 Voluntary Manslaughter Any
¢ ol ;
CC2505 Causing or Aiding Suicide Any

0

CC2702 Aggravated Assault Any

cC2902 Unlawful Restraint ' o ' o Any

CC3122.1 - StatutorySeXuaIAssauIt ” , - ‘ Any

CC3124.1 ~ Sexual Assault V ‘ Any

CC4305 Dealing in Infant Children A Any

CS13A12 Acquisition of Controlled Substance by Fraud Felony

CS13A30 Possession with Intent to Deliver Felony

QS13A38 ; » Designer Drugsv , ' k Felony
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DEPARTMENT OF AGING

Dear Employer/Applicant:

Enclosed are the various forms that will need to be completed in order to obtain a criminal
history background check to work in a facility as defined by Act 169 of 1996 as amended by Act
13 of 1997. The effective date of the act is July 1, 1998.

Facilities are defined by the act to include Act-13 mandates the following facilities to report:
Domiciliary Care Homes, Home Health Care Agencies, Long Term Care Nursing Facilities
(licensed by Dept. of Health), Adult Daily Living Centers (licensed by Dept. of Aging), and
Personal Care Homes (licensed by Dept. of Public Welfare). In addition, the Pennsylvania
Department of Health has defined home health care organization or agency to include:
hospices, birth centers, home care agencies and home care registries*. The Pennsylvania
Department of Public Welfare (DPW) has concluded that the Act is applicable to all DPW-
licensed and DPW-operated residential facilities for adults; specifically: Personal Care Homes,
55 Pa. Code Ch. 2620; Assisted Living Residences, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 2800; Community
Residential Rehabilitation Services, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 5310; Long Term Structured Residences,
55 Pa. Code Ch. 5320; Community Homes for Individuals with Mental Retardation, 55 Pa. Code
Ch. 6400; Family Living Homes, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 6500; ICF-MRs (private and state), 55 Pa.
Code Ch. 6600; State Mental Hospitals; Residential Treatment Facilities for Adults, Sexual
Responsibility Treatment Programs, and Nursing Facilities. *A Home Care Agency is further
defined to include those agencies licensed by the Department of Health and any public or
private organization which provides care to a care-dependent individual in their place of
residence. A Home Care Registry or “Registry” is further defined to include those agencies
licensed by the Department of Health any organization or business entity that supplies, arranges
or refers independent contractors to provide activities of daily living or instrumental activities of
daily living or specialized care in the consumer’s place of residence or other independent living
environment for which the registry receives a fee, consideration or compensation of any kind.

An applicant/employee is defined as an individual who is employed by a facility. The term
includes contract employees who have direct contact with residents or unsupervised access to
their personal living quarters. The term includes any person who enters into a contractual
relationship to provide care to a care-dependent individual for monetary consideration in their
place of residence.

If a current employee has been with a facility from July 1, 1998 and prior and is still with the
same facility on the effective date of this act, no criminal background check is necessary. If the
current employee was hired on or after July 1, 1998, the facility has one year from the
effective date of the act to conduct the background check. Any employee seeking
employment on or after July 1, 1998, will need to obtain a criminal history background check.

If the applicant/employee has been a resident of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania for 2 or
more consecutive years prior to application for employment, the applicant will need to

Bureau of Advocacy /Criminal History Background Check Unit
555 Walnut Street, 5™ FI. | Harrisburg PA 17101 | 717.265.7887 | F 717.772.2668 | www.aqging.state.pa.us
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obtain a clearance from the Pennsylvania State Police. This clearance is obtained by doing the
following:

The fastest way to obtain results is by using the Pennsylvania State Police Access to Criminal
History website at https://epatch.state.pa.us/Home.jsp . ‘

If you do not have internet access follow the instructions for the Request for Criminal Record
Check Form (SP4-164) below.

REQUEST FOR CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK FORM (SP4-164)

This form is used to obtain a report from the Pennsylvania State Police criminal history files.
Complete Part | of the Form. Follow the instructions printed in each section for proper
completion of the form. Failure to follow the instructions will result in a considerable delay in the
processing of your request. A processing fee of $10.00 is required. Enclose a money order,
cashier’s check or certified check made payable to the “Commonwealth of PA”. No cash,
personal or business checks will be accepted. ’
Mail the completed application and fee to the address below:

PA State Police Central Repository-164
1800 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9758

The act does allow for a 30-calendar-day provisional hire for those individuals who only need a
Pennsylvania State Police Background Check. In order for the provisional hire to be allowed the
following items must occur:

1. The applicants must provide proof they have applied for the background
check.

2. Applicants swear or affirm in writing that they have not been convicted of
any of the offenses contained in the act.

3. Administrator has no knowledge of information pertaining to the applicant
which would disqualify the applicant from employment pursuant to the act.

When the State Police Criminal History Background Report is received and the provisionally
hired applicant has been found to have a conviction for one of the prohibitive offenses, the
applicant will be immediately dismissed by the administrator.

The Department has enclosed two informational tools to facilitate the interpretation of the State
Police Criminal History Background Reports. The first tool developed by the Department of
Aging contains a list of all the prohibitive offenses, corresponding offense code and type of
conviction necessary to preclude employment. The second information tool was developed by
the Pennsylvania State Police on how to read a criminal history background report.

When the applicant/employee has not been a resident of the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania for the entire two years (without interruption) immediately preceding the
date of application for employment or currently lives out-of-state, in _addition to the

Pennsylvania State Police Criminal History Check, the applicant/employee will also need
to obtain an FBI Criminal History Check.

Bureau of Advocacy /Criminal History Background Check Unit
555 Walnut Street, 5" FI. | Harrisburg PA 17101 | 717.265.7887 | F 717.772.2668 | www.aging.state.pa.us
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This clearance is obtained by doing the following:

(1) Applicant Registration: Applicants will now register online at www.pa.cogentid.com or by
telephone at 1-888-439-2486, Monday through Friday, 8 A.M. to 6 P.M. EST. Following
registration, the applicant will be provided with a registration number that they will take with
them when they go to the Cogent site for fingerprinting. Applicants must be registered with
Cogent Systems prior to arriving at a fingerprinting site.

When registering on-line, please select the Pennsylvania Department of Aging icon.
Fingerprinting requests processed through any other agency cannot be accepted. If an
applicant mistakenly registers through a different department, the registration must be
cancelled. The applicant must restart the registration process using the Aging icon. This must
be completed prior to being fingerprinted. Once fingerprinted, registration and/or results cannot
be transferred to another state agency.

Note to facilities and/or agencies: If your agency chooses to be billed for fingerprinting, Cogent
Systems allows the fee to be billed to the facilities/agencies address. In order to use this course
of action, the facility/agency must complete and submit the Cogent Systems’ Agency Billing
Agreement. The agreement is available on the Cogent website at www.pa.cogentid.com. The
billing account must be established prior to sending applicants to the fingerprint site.

(2) FEES: The fee for an FBI background check is $27.50. Payment can be made during on-
line registration by using a credit or debit card or in-person at the fingerprinting site with a
money order or cashier’'s check made payable to Cogent Systems. No cash transactions or
personal checks will be accepted.

(3) FINGERPRINT SITES: Since April 2007, Cogent Systems has established more than 110
sites across the Commonwealth. We encourage all facilities to direct perspective applicants to
the most convenient fingerprint service site. To find a site near you visit www.pa.cogentid.com

(4) Processing FBI Reports: Cogent Systems will forward the applicant’s fingerprints
electronically to the FBI. Responses from the FBI will be sent to the PA Department of Aging for
analysis. The Department of Aging will review the results to determine if any convictions listed
in OAPSA would prohibit the applicant/employee from being employed. The Department of
Aging will send employment determination letters to both the facility and applicant. Employment
determinations from any other source are not acceptable under the law.

The act does allow for a 90-calendar-day provisional hire for those individuals who need both
the Pennsylvania State Police Background Check and the FBI Background Check. In order for
the provisional hire to be allowed the following items must occur:

1. The applicants must provide proof they have applied for the background
check.

2. Applicants swear or affirm in writing that they have not been convicted of
any of the offenses contained in the act.

3. Administrator has no knowledge of information pertaining to the applicant
which would disqualify the applicant from employment pursuant to the act.

Bureau of Advocacy /Criminal History Background Check Unit
555 Walnut Street, 5™ FI. | Harrisburg PA 17101 | 717.265.7887 | F 717.772.2668 | www.aging.state.pa.us
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When the PA Department of Aging’s response to the FBI Background Check is received for the
provisionally hired employee and the provisional employee has been found to have a conviction

for one of the prohibitive offenses, the applicant will be immediately dismissed by the
administrator.

Enclosed is a summary of Act 169 of 1996 and Act 13 of 1997 for a clearer understanding of
both acts. The summary also contains information on Act 28 which was passed during 1995.

If you would have any questions, please contact the PA Department of Aging at (717) 265-7887,
Monday through Friday.

Enclosures

Bureau of Advocacy /Criminal History Background Check Unit
555 Walnut Street, 5" FI. | Harrisburg PA 17101 | 717.265.7887 | F 717.772.2668 | www.aging.state.pa.us
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Older Adults Protective Services Act (OAPSA)
Criminal History Background Checks

Resident of PA for two years (without interruption)
upon application for employment

NOT a resident of PA for two years (consecutively)
upon application for employment

I

Had a PA State Police background check
within preceding one year
{must provide copy)

Has not had a PA State Police background
check within preceding one year and/or
does not have a copy

Had PA State Police and PDA FBI
background checks within preceding one
year (must provide copies)

Has not had PA State Police and PDA FBI
background checks within preceding one
year and/or does not have a copy

Review PAS State Police results and
determine if eligible for employment based
on OAPSA list of prohibitive offenses

Complete PA State Police form:
“Request for Criminal Record Check”
(SP4-164)

Review PA State Police results and
determine if eligible for employment based
on OAPSA list of prohibitive offenses

Apply for a PA State Police background
check and PDA FBI background check

Mail SP4-164 form, along with $10 money
order, certified check or cashier's check,
payable to “Commonwealth of PA” to:

PA State Police Central Repository — 164
1800 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9758
(717) 783-9973

Upon receipt of results, determine if eligible
for employment based on OAPSA list of
prohibitive offenses

Complete PA State Police form:
“Request for Criminal Record Check”
(SP4-164)

Register online for Department of Aging
background check at
www.pa.cogentid.com

Mail SP4-164 form, along with $10 money
order, certified check or cashier's check,
payable to “Commonwealth of PA” to:

Print Applicant Registration Page with
Registration ID

PA State Police Central Repository — 164
1800 Elmerton Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9758
(717) 783-9973

Visit any PA Cogent Print Location with
Registration Number, Identification and
payment (if payment not submitted online)
to be fingerprinted electronically.

|

*Eacilities defined by the act include: Act-13 mandates the following facilities to report: Domiciliary Care Homes, Home Health Care
Agencies, Long Term Care Nursing Facilities (licensed by Dept. of Health), Adult Daily Living Centers (licensed by Dept. of Aging), and
Personal Care Homes (licensed by Dept. of Public Welfare). In addition, the Pennsylvania Department of Health has defined home
health care organization or agency to include: hospices, birth centers, home care agencies and home care registries*.

The Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare (DPW) has concluded that the Act is applicable to all DPW-licensed and DPW-operated
residential facilities for adults; specifically: Personal Care Homes, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 2620; Assisted Living Residences, 55 Pa. Code Ch.
2800; Community Residential Rehabilitation Services, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 5310; Long Term Structured Residences, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 5320;
Community Homes for Individuals with Mental Retardation, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 6400; Family Living Homes, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 6500; ICF-
MRs (private and state), 55 Pa. Code Ch. 6600; State Mental Hospitals; Residential Treatment Facilities for Adults, Sexual Responsibility
Treatment Programs, and Nursing Facilities.

**A Home Care Agency is further defined to include those agencies licensed by the Department of Health and any public or private
organization which provides care to a care-dependent individual in their place of residence. A Home Care Registry or “Registry” is
further defined to include those agencies licensed by the Department of Health any organization or business entity that supplies,
arranges or refers independent contractors to provide activities of daily living or instrumental activities of daily living or
specialized care in the consumer’s place of residence or other independent living environment for which the registry receives a fee,

Upon receipt of results, determine if eligible
for employment based on OAPSA list of
prohibitive offenses

If the applicant does not reside in PA and

cannot visit a PA Cogent Print Location,

see the steps for submitting a Fingerprint
Card on the Cogent website

PA Department of Aging will send an
eligibility response to the employer and
applicant once FBI results are received







SP 4-164 (12-99) FOR CENTRAL REPOSITORY USE ONLY
PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE (LEAVE BLANK)

REQUEST FOR CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK

PARTI 70 BE COMPLETED BY REQUESTER DATE OF REQUEST
(INFORMA TION WILL BE MAILED TO REQUESTER ONLW

*** TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY WITH INK ***

NOTE: IF THIS FORM IS NOT LEGIBLE OR NOT PROPERLY COMPLETED, IT WILL BE RETURNED UNPROCESSED TO THE
REQUESTER. A RESPONSE MAY TAKE THREE WEEKS OR LONGER TO PROCESS.

WARNING: A PERSON COMMITS A MISDEMEANOR OF THE THIRD DEGREE IF HE/SHE MAKES A WRITTEN FALSE
STATEMENT, WHICH HE/SHE DOES NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE.

REQUESTER
NAME

ADDRESS

ciTtY STATE ZIP

CONTACT TELEPHONE NUMBER (INCLUDING AREA CODE)

REQUESTER IDENTIFICATION (ONLY CHECK ONE BLOCK)

D INDIVIDUAL/NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE AGENCY — ENCLOSE A CERTIFIED CHECK/MONEY ORDER IN THE AMOUNT OF $10.00 PAYABLE TO: “COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYL VANIA.”
THE FEE IS NONREFUNDABLE.

D FEE EXEMPT NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE AGENCY *** DO NOT SEND CASH OR PERSONAL CHECK ***
NAME/SUBJECT OF RECORD CHECK wAST) {FIRST) {MIDDLE)
WMAIDEN NAME AND/OR ALIASES SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (SOC) DATE OF BIRTH (DOB) SEX RACE

REASON FOR REQUEST (CHECK ONE BLOCK)

D EMPLOYMENT (IF APPLICABLE, CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING) D ELDER CARE |:| CHILD CARE |:| SCHOOL DISTRICT
D ADOPTION/FOSTER CARE
D OTHER (SPECIFY)

ONLY CHECK THIS BLOCK IF YOU WANT TO REVIEW YOUR ENTIRE CRIMINAL HISTORY

INDIVIDUAL ACCESS AND REVIEW OR FIREARMS CHALLENGE-ENTIRE CRIMINAL HISTORY
(AVAILABLE ONLY TO SUBJECT OF RECORD CHECK OR LEGAL REPRESENTATIVE WITH LEGAL AFFIDAVIT OF LEGAL REPRESENTATIVE ATTACHED)

REQUESTER CHECKLIST AFTER COMPLETION MAIL TO
DID YOU ENTER THE FULL NAME, DOB, AND SOC? PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE
CENTRAL REPOSITORY - 164
DID YOU ENCLOSE THE $10.00 FEE (CERTIFIED CHECK/MONEY ORDER)? 1800 ELMERTON AVENUE
*** DO NOT SEND CASH OR PERSONAL CHECK *** HARRISBURG, PA 17110-9758

717-783-9973
DID YOU ENTER YOUR COMPLETE ADDRESS INCLUDING ZIP CODE AND .
TELEPHONE NUMBER IN THE BLOCKS PROVIDED? BUSINESS HOURS 8:15 am - 4:15 pm (Monday - Friday)

— — m—

PARTII CENTRAL REPOSITORY RESPONSE ONLY . ***DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE =

INFORMATION DISSEMINATED INQUIRY DISSEMINATED BY SID NUMBER

[ ] NORECORD [ ] CRIMINAL RECORD ATTACHED

e ———————————————————————————————————————————————————————————
THE INFORMATION DISSEMINATED BY THE CENTRAL REPOSITORY IS BASED ON THE CERTIFIED BY
FOLLOWING IDENTIFIERS THAT MATCH THOSE FURNISHED BY THE REQUESTER.

[ ] NAME [ ] SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
[] pATEOFBIRTH [ ] RACE
[] sEx [[] MAIDEN/ALIAS NAME (DIRECTOR, CENTRAL REPOSITORY)

_This response is based on a comparison of data prowded by the requester in Part | agamst the mformatmn contained in the files
of the Pennsylvania State Police Central Repository only, and does not preclude the exnstence of crlmmal records whlch mlght be |
contained in the reposntorles of other local, state, or federal criminal justice agencues =




SP 4-164 (12-99)

*W

PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE

REQUEST FOR CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK

FOR CENTRAL REPOSITORY USE ONLY
(LEAVE BLANK)

DATE OF REQUEST

1/1/01

— = TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY WITH INK **

NOTE:
REQUESTER. A RESPONSE MAY TAKE THREE WEEKS OR LONGER TO PROCESS.

WARNING: A PERSON COMMITS A MISDEMEANOR OF THE THIRD DEGREE IF HE/SHE MAKES A WRITTEN FALSE

STATEMENT, WHICH HE/SHE DOES NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE.

IF THIS FORM IS NOT LEGIBLE OR NOT PROPERLY COMPLETED, IT WiLL BE RETURNED UNPROCESSED TO THE

REQUESTER
NAME | ABC Nursing Home
ADDRESS
789 Qak Drive
cITY STATE  2IP
Chester PA 98765

CONTACT TELEPHONE NUMBER (INCLUDING AREA CODE

9]1919]|-1919]9]{ -

REQUESTER IDENTIFICATION (ONLY CHECK ONE 81.OCK)

4
INDIVIDUAL/NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE AGENCY — ENCLOSE A CERT]
THE FEE IS NONREFUNDABLE. :

D FEE EXEMPT NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE AGEN

ANIA"

NAME/SUBJECT OF RECORD CHECK

MAIDEN NAME AND/O!

O CARE [] scHooLpistricT

ATIVE"WITH LEGAL AFFIDAVIT OF LEGAL REPRESENTATIVE ATTACHED])

FTER COMPLETION MAIL TO

PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE
CENTRAL REPOSITORY - 164
1800 ELMERTON AVENUE
HARRISBURG, PA 17110-9758
717-783-9973

BUSINESS HOURS 8:15 am - 4:15 pm (Monday — Friday)

[} CRIMINAL RECORD ATTACHED

INGUIRY DISSEMINATED BY

SID NUMBER

T ——— T Y T A A T — T ————
‘THE INFORMATION DISSEMINATED BY THE CENTRAL REPOSITORY IS BASED ON THE
FOLLOWING IDEN MATCH THOSE FURNISHED BY THE REQUESTER.

] name [} sociAL SECURITY NUMBER
[] oateoFBIRTH [_] RACE
[ sex [:] MAIDEN/ALIAS NAME

CERTIFIED BY

(DIRECTOR, CENTRAL REPOSITORY)

vThis"

ntained in the files




SAMPLE CRIMINAL HISTORY REPORT

SP4-137B

PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE
CENTRAL REPOSITORY
1800 ELMERTON AVENUE
HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA 17110
(717) 787-9092

COMPILED: 08/07/97
PAGE: 1

USE OF THE FOLLOWING CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD FOR *SID/000-01-23-6*
REGULATED BY ACT 47, AS AMENDED.
III - SINGLE STATE OFFENDER <

Single State Offender
indicates Record enly in
+ PA

Name used when
arrested

SEX: M RAC: W SOC: 202-22-5555 FBI: §98989A

WSIZSIM

indicates fingerprints on
file in another state

W » ARRESTED: 08/25/87

y
NAME: TEST, RECORD OTN: Q333333-0 ¢—

PAPSP3600 HARRISBURG PSP OCA: E19804

OTN=Offense Tracking
is assigned by the
District Justice

} DISTRICT JUSTICE: 06306

Multiple State Offender -

Police Dept, Making 07/24/37 CC5505 PUBLIC DRUNKENNESS - S PLEAD GUILTY
arrest 07/24/87 CC5503A DISORDERLY CONDUCT - § PLEAD GUILTY i CANumber
ssigned by the Police
Department
Date of Offense NAME: TEST, RECORD OTN: E123456-1 <
ARRESTED: 06/30/90  PA0350400 SCRANTON PD OCA: B25000
DISPOSITION DATE: 10/25/90 COMMON PLEAS DOCKET: 90-199
Date Disposition \ Common Pleas Court
made by Court 06/30/90 CC6106 FIREARM CARRIED W/O A LICENSE GUILTY Docket Number assigned to
-M1 CO. PROBATION the case. '
Code charged with and v 05 YRS - 06 YRS _
the section number: - vy
CC=Crimes Code 06/30/90 CC0908 PROHIBITED OFFENSIVE WEAPONS GUILTY Disposition of the Charge
CS=The Controlled -M1 CO. PROBATION
Substance, Drug, 05 YRS - 06 YRS
Device & Cosmetic Act
IF THE ARREST IS 3 YEARS
s OR LESS FROM THE DATE
Gradeof Crime mos(| |\ A ME: RECORD, TEST OTN: £949949-7 OF YOUR REQUEST AND WE
serious to least serfous: | ARRESTED: 07/04/97  PAPSP54111 McCONNELLSBURG PSP OCA: G12345 | HAVE NOT RECEIVED A

F-1
F-2
F-3
M-1
M-2
M-3
S

DISPOSITION DATE:

VIO CS/DRUG/DEV & COSMETIC ACT DISPOSITION 4
UNREPORTED

07/04/97 CS13A30

I o B LR e
F=FELONY, M=MISDEMEANOR, S=SUMMARY AND THE NUMERIC = THE
DEGREE

ARREST (S) SUPPORTED BY FINGERPRINT CARD (8S) ON FILE.

RESPONSE BASED ON COMPARISON OF REQUESTER FURNISHED
INFORMATION AND/OR FINGERPRINTS AGAINST A NAME INDEX AND/OR

DISPOSITION FROM THE
CLERK OF COURTS, IT IS
SHOWN AS “DISPOSITION
UNREPORTED" TO LET YOU
KNOW CHARGE(S) MAY BE
PENDING.

IF You DESIRE A
DISPOSITION ON THE :
CHARGE(S), YOU MUST :

CONTACT THE CLERK OF
COURTS IN THE COUNTY °

WHICH THE POLICE
DEPARTMENT THAT MADE
THE ARREST IS LOCATED.

FINGERPRINTS CONTAINED IN THE FILES OF THE PENNSYLVANIA STATE
POLICE CENTRAL REPOSITORY ONLY, AND DOES NOT PRECLUDE THE
EXISTENCE OF OTHER CRIMINAL RECORDS WHICH MAY BE CONTAINED IN
THE REPOSITORIES OF OTHER LOCAL, STATE OR FEDERAL CRIMINAL
JUSTICE AGENCIES.






COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
DEPARTMENT OF AGING
555 Walnut Street — 5" Floor
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17101-1919

February 2004

Subject: Older Aduits Protective Services Act — Criminal Background Check Provisions

Nixon v. Commonwealth of PA, et al, 2003 LEXIS 2604 (12/30/2003)

The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued the above-referenced decision on December 30, 2003, which, in

effect, held the criminal history background check prohibitive hire provisions of the Older Adults Protective Services
Act (OAPSA) to be unconstitutional “as applied to the individual plaintiffs.” The Court only granted specific relief to the
individual plaintiffs and not to all persons affected by the criminal history background check provisions in OAPSA.

The Pennsylvania Department of Aging (PDA) anticipates legislative action in the near future. In the interim,

the protective services program in PDA will operate as follows for all facilities required to comply with OQAPSA;

1.
2.

3.

Criminal history reports are still required for all applicants.

The PA State Police will continue to process applications for state criminal history reports and provide such
information to the entity requesting the criminal history report.

PDA will continue to process FBI criminal history reports.

Letters from PDA will continue to indicate “clear” or “prohibited”, based on FBI criminal history background
check information.

Effective February 4, 2004, facilities will not be sanctioned for hiring or continuing to employ individuals who
demonstrate rehabilitation by evidence of a minimum five-year aggregate work history in care-dependent
services, without incident, from either the date of conviction or release from incarceration, whichever is later.
Applicants are responsible for providing official verification of such dates. Care-dependent services include
healthcare, eldercare, childcare, mental health, mental retardation, or care of the disabled. Facilities must
reasonably investigate the character of an individual with a previously disqualifying criminal offense by means
of interviews, references and evidence of work history. Facilities that hire such an individual are required to
obtain specific employer-provided documentation of that individual's employment in care-dependent services
and retain it in the individual's personnel file.

The Court’s ruling in no way prohibits a facility from refusing to employ an individual, even one who has a
clean aggregate five-year work history, based on information obtained in a criminal history report.
Pennsylvania law, 18 Pa.C.S. § 9125, provides that an employer may consider criminal history felonies and
misdemeanors, to the extent they relate to the applicant’s suitability for employment in the position sought.
The employer is required to notify the applicant, in writing, if the decision not to hire the applicant is based, in
whole or in part, on the applicant’s criminal history.

if you have any questions, please contact the Pennsylvania Department of Aging, Criminal History Background

Check Unit at 717-265-7887.

Sipcerely,

Wilmarie Gonzalez,
Bureau for Advocacy, Pro!






Act 28 of 1995

The act is effective for conduct committed after September 6, 1995.

Who is protected by the Act? Individuals, 18 years of age and above,
who due to physical or cognitive disability or impairment, require
assistance to meet their needs for: food, shelter, clothing, personal care,
or health care; and who reside in either a nursing home, domiciliary care
home, community residential facility; or who receive home health services
in their residence; or who receive services from another who has an
obligation to care for the person for monetary consideration in either the
care dependent person’s home or in one of the previously described
facilities; or who receives services from an adult daily living center.

Who is subject to prosecution under the Act? Caretakers are subject
to prosecution under the Act. A caretaker is any person who: Owns,
operates, manages or is employed in a nursing home, personal care
home, domiciliary care home, community residential facility, intermediate
care facility for the mentally retarded, adult daily living center, home health
agency or home health service provider whether licensed or unlicensed
who has responsibility to care for a care-dependent person. A caretaker
is also any person who has an obligation to care for a care-dependent
person in any described facility or the care-dependent’s home and who
receives monetary consideration for the care.

A caretaker can be a natural person, a corporation, a partnership, an
unincorporated association or any other business entity. (This does not
include governmental entities, boards or commissions).

What triggers prosecution? (a) Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly
causing bodily injury or serious bodily injury to a care-dependent person
by failure to provide treatment, care, goods or services necessary to
preserve the health, safety, or welfare of a care-dependent person for who
he is responsible to provide care. (b) A caretaker may also be prosecuted
if he intentionally or knowingly uses a physical restraint or a chemical
restraint or medication on a care-dependent person, or isolates that
person, contrary to law or regulation with resulting bodily or serious bodily

injury.

What must be observed in order to implement the provisions of the
Act? The care-dependent person must have suffered either bodily injury
or serious bodily injury. Bodily injury is defined by the Crimes Code at
§2301 as, “Impairment of physical condition or substantial pain.” Serious
bodily injury is defined by the Crimes Code at §2301 as, “Bodily injury
which creates a substantial risk of death or which causes serious,
permanent disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the function
of any bodily member or organ.”

Who must report? Personnel of PDA (or AAA’s), DoH or DPW when
they have reasonable cause to believe that a care-dependent person
residing in a facility has suffered bodily injury or been unlawfully restrained
in violation of the Act, shall report immediately to the local law
enforcement agency or to _the Office of the Attorney General. The
Departments must make these reports when they become aware of care-
dependent person’s mistreatment in conducting regulatory or investigative
responsibilities.  (This would include licensure visits and inspections
based on complaints.)

Act 13 of 1997

Purpose: Requires employee or an administrator of a facility who has
reasonable cause to believe that a recipient is a victim of abuse to
immediately report the abuse. The effective date was December 10, 1997.

Abuse: The occurrence of one or more of the following acts: (1) The
infliction of injury, unreasonable confinement, intimidation or punishment
with resulting physical harm, pain, or mental anguish; (2) The willful
deprivation by a caretaker of goods or services which are necessary to
maintain physical or mental health; (3) Sexual harassment; and/or (4)
Sexual abuse which is intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing or
attempting to cause rape, involuntary deviate sexual intercourse, sexual
assault, statutory sexual assault, aggravated indecent assault, indecent
assault or incest. No older adult shall be found to be abused solely on the
grounds of environmental factors which are beyond the control of the older
adult or the caretaker, such as inadequate housing, furnishings, income,
clothing or medical care.

Facility: The type of facilities impacted by the Act are: long-term care
nursing facility, personal care home, domiciliary care home, home health
agency and an adult daily living center.

Recipient: An individual who receives care, services or treatment in or
from a facility.

Serious Bodily Injury: An injury which creates a substantial risk of death
or which causes serious permanent disfigurement or protracted loss or
impairment of the function of a body member or organ.

Serious Physical Injury: An injury that causes a person severe pain or
significantly impairs a person’s physical functioning, either permanently or
temporarily.

Sexual Abuse: Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing or
attempting to cause rape, involuntary deviate sexual intercourse, sexual
assault, statutory sexual assault, aggravated indecent assault, indecent
assault or incest.

Suspicious Death

Process: When an employee or administrator has reasonable cause to
believe that a recipient is a victim of abuse they shall immediately make
an oral report to the local AAA. Within 48 hours of making the oral report
the employee or administrator shall make a written report to the AAA.

If the employee or administrator believes the abuse involves sexual
abuse, serious physical injury, serious bodily injury or suspicious death
they are also required to make an immediate oral report to law
enforcement and to PDA in addition to the oral and written report to the
AAA.  Within 48 hours of making the oral report the employee or
administrator shall follow-up with a written report to law enforcement
officials.

Within 48 hours of receiving a report of abuse involving sexual abuse,
serious physical injury, serious bodily injury, or suspicious death, the local
AAA shall forward a written report to PDA.

When the local AAA receives a report concerning suspicious death, the
AAA will make an oral report to the coroner and follow-up with a written
report within 24 hours.

Failure to comply with Act 13 can result in administrative and criminal
penalties. The licensing agency for the facility will have jurisdiction to
determine any administrative violation and may issue a civil penalty up to
$2,500.  Additional criminal fines and penaities of up to one year
imprisonment are included for criminal violation of the Act,

Act 169 of 1996

Purpose: Requires criminal history background checks for employees of NH,
PCH, Dom Care, Home Health and ADC. Employees with convictions for
prohibitive offenses are precluded from working in these facilities. The Act
takes effect July 1, 1998,

Prohibitive Offenses: Criminal Homicide, Aggravated Assault, Kidnapping,
Unlawful Restraint, Rape, Statutory Sexual Assault, Involuntary Deviate
Sexual Intercourse, Sexual Assault, Aggravated Indecent Assault, Indecent
Assault, Arson and Related Offenses, Burglary, Robbery, Theft (Felony or 2
Misdemeanors), Forgery, Securing Execution of Documents by Deception,
Incest, Concealing Death of a Child, Felony Drug Offense, Child
Endangerment, Dealing in Infant Children, Intimidation of a Witness,
Retaliation Against a Witness, Prostitution (Felony Offense), Obscene or
Other Sexual Materials and Corruption of Minors.

Employees: An employee is defined as any applicant or new employee who
has been hired since July 1, 1998. Includes contract employees with direct
contact with residents or unsupervised access to their personal living quarters.
Also includes persons employed or contracted to provide care to a care-
dependent individual for monetary consideration in the individual’s residence.

Eacility: The types of facilities covered by the Act are as follows: domiciliary
care homes, home health agencies, long-term care nursing facilities, adult day
care facilities, and personal care homes. The Act also includes any private or
public organization which provides care to a care-dependent person in their
residence.

Process: An applicant/new hire who has been a resident of the state for the
last two years uninterrupted needs to obtain a “Request for Criminal History
Background Check” from the nearest PA State Police barracks. The
applicant/new hire will complete the application and forward it with a money
order or cashiers check for $10 made payable to “Commonwealth of PA” to
the State Police for processing. The Act does allow for the provisional hire of
an employee for 30 days if the employee can provide proof they have applied
for the background check. If there is no criminal history record, the PSP will
forward a letter stating the same. If there is a criminal record, the PSP will
forward a copy of the rap sheet to the requester.

If the applicant has not been a PA resident for the two years before
application, they will need to have a PSP criminal history background check
completed and an FBI Background Check. The applicant will obtain an FBI
fingerprint card either from their prospective employer or by contacting PDA.
After obtaining the fingerprint card the applicant will go to police to be
fingerprinted. The completed card (fingerprints and requested information) will
be forwarded to PDA along with a money order, cashier's check, or certified
check for $30.25 made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”.

The fingerprints will be forwarded to the FBI for processing by PDA. The
normal processing time is between 60 and 90 days. The Act does allow for
the provisional hire of an employee who requires an FBI check for 90 days, if
the employee can provide proof they have applied for the background check.
When the application has been processed by the FBI, the results will be
returned to PDA. When there is no criminal history record information
recorded, a clearance letter will be sent to the applicant/employer. If there is
an open disposition for a prohibitive offense, a letter will be sent to the
applicant requesting the disposition of the case for determination of eligibility
for employment. If there is a conviction for one of the prohibitive offenses, a
prohibitive hire letter will be forwarded to the applicant/employer.




IMPORTANT NOTE

All employees of OAPSA facilities™ required to conduct criminal
history background checks are also required to comply with
Act 13 Mandatory Abuse Reporting requirements.

www.aging.state.pa.us/psonlinetraining

The PA Department of Aging provides on-line, self-study Training for Mandatory Abuse Reporting
and Criminal History Background Checks.

The overall aim of the Self Study Course is to give you the concepts, strategies, and techniques that will
allow you to understand the basic tenets of the Act, and the roles and responsibilities of various individuals
and regulatory systems in the provision of protective services in long term care facilities.

You can access the training by going to the PA Department of Aging website at www.aging.state.pa.us and
clicking on ‘“Professionals and Providers” “Protective Services and Ombudsman” and under “Criminal
History Background Check Quick Links” click on the Online Training: Mandatory Abuse Training,
Criminal History Background Checks.

*Facilities defined by the act include: Act-13 mandates the following facilities to report: Domiciliary Care Homes, Home Health Care Agencies,
Long Term Care Nursing Facilities (licensed by Dept. of Health), Adult Daily Living Centers (licensed by Dept. of Aging), and Personal Care
Homes (licensed by Dept. of Public Welfare). In addition, the Pennsylvania Department of Health has defined home health care organization or
agency to include: hospices, birth centers, home care agencies and home care registries™. The Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare
(DPW) has concluded that the Act is applicable to all DPW-ficensed and DPW-operated residential facilities for adults; specifically: Personal
Care Homes, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 2620; Assisted Living Residences, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 2800; Community Residential Rehabilitation Services, 55 Pa.
Code Ch. 5310; Long Term Structured Residences, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 5320; Community Homes for Individuals with Mental Retardation, 55 Pa.
Code Ch. 6400; Family Living Homes, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 8500; ICF-MRs (private and state), 55 Pa. Code Ch. 6600; State Mental Hospitals;
Residential Treatment Facilities for Adults, Sexual Responsibility Treatment Programs, and Nursing Facilities.

**A Home Care Agency is further defined to include those agencies licensed by the Department of Health and any public or private organization
which provides care to a care-dependent individual in their place of residence. A Home Care Registry or “Registry” is further defined to include
those agencies licensed by the Department of Health any organization or business entity that supplies, arranges or refers independent
contractors to provide activities of daily fiving or instrumental activities of daily fiving or specialized care in the consumer’s place of residence or
other independent living environment for which the registry receives a fee, consideration or compensation of any kind.



http:www.aging.state.pa.us
www.aging.state.pa.us/psonlinetraining



