Keystone Stars Child Care Quality Initiative

Keystone STARS is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system (QRIS) in early learning and school age environments that builds on the health and safety requirements of child care certification. Child care, Head Start, and pre-kindergarten programs earn a STAR 1 through STAR 4 rating by meeting research-based performance standards for staff qualifications and professional development; learning program (child observation, curriculum, classroom environment); partnerships with family and community; and leadership and management (business practices). Keystone STARS programs may also receive grants and awards, professional development, and technical assistance to help them move up the STARS ladder. Click here to learn more about the Keystone STARS. 

Learn more about the Keystone STARS

Re-Visioning Keystone STARS: Pennsylvania's Plan

Child outcomes for preschoolers enrolled in Keystone STAR 3 and 4 programs, 2012-2013 (PDF)

Keystone STARS Brochure

Keystone STARS Brochure Spanish

Keystone STARS 2010 Program Report

Performance Standards

Keystone STARS Performance Standards

Contact your Regional Key to Apply

Your Regional Key can answer questions about participating in Keystone STARS, help you through the application process and will designate your STAR level.

Regional Keys
Northeast Regional Key
Northwest Regional Key
South Central Regional Key
Southeast Regional Key
Southwest Regional Key